The Shaving Thread

djhutch

I contemplated putting this in the consumer review thread, but I thought maybe having its own name would get more feedback. 

I have been shaving my head for roughly 10 years.  The best results I've had were with a Gillette Fusion, but it got to a point that I just couldn't bring myself to spend $20-$25 for 4 razor blades - even if I did stretch them for a couple weeks.  I switched to Dollar Shave Club, which has been fabulous until recently.  I don't know if the blades have changed, or if I'm just getting more reckless, but I've nicked myself about a half dozen times pretty good & finding good kut kits is next to impossible.

So for the first time I'm thinking about getting an electric shaver.  Anybody have any experience in this area, before I bleed to death?

I switched to a safety razor a few years ago.  I feel I get a better shave with just the single blade and I never ran numbers, but I think it is cheaper.

Looking on Amazon right now.  100 Gillette Platinum Blue blades for $12.92.  I would guess you get bare minimum 5 shaves per blade and more likely 7-10.  So you have your next 3-5 years of blades for $13.  I don't do it but you can use a leather strop on the blades to extend their life.

Next step is using a straight razor.  

• Like 2

I don’t shave my head so I can’t offer advice there.

I’ve used DSC and Harry’s. DSC was good and then quality started to decline. Harry’s always ended up nicking me so I dropped them quick. 

Im going to go back to the old fashioned safety razor when I exhaust my current blades. 

• Like 1

On 4/14/2022 at 4:58 PM, Tigeraholic1 said:

I have been shaving my head for 25 years and use Gillette Proglide ($28 for 8 amazon). The key for me is the vibrating handle. Smooth as a baby butt and no irritation.

That's not bad .. I was always a little nervous about vibrating razor blades, though!

On 4/14/2022 at 9:50 PM, Biff Mayhem said:

I don’t shave my head so I can’t offer advice there.