Jump to content

3/30/24 2:10PM EDT Detroit Tigers @ Chicago


Recommended Posts

Looking at the box score and what stands out to me is that while the Tigers struck out twice in the 10th, in the first 9 innings they only struck out once in 43 plate appearances. In this day and age that is remarkable and borderline unheard of!

  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

59 minutes ago, gehringer_2 said:

Did Lange have to face three if he started the inning?

A rule I take as ironclad for a manager is never give the reliever the opportunity to load the bases.

To start an inning, I would say yes, he has to face 3 hitters. But if a reliever comes in for the final hitter, he doesn't need to start the next inning, does he?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

12 minutes ago, Sports_Freak said:

To start an inning, I would say yes, he has to face 3 hitters. But if a reliever comes in for the final hitter, he doesn't need to start the next inning, does he?

no - I'm pretty sure there is no inning roll over requirement. You can face less than three when you finish an inning.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

45 minutes ago, RandyMarsh said:

BTW I was only following on gameday but did the announcers give any reason why Foley wasn't used in the 10th? Was he unavailable or something?

In the post game Hinch said that with the runner at second he thought the risk of a ground ball single with Foley was a greater  than Miller's likelihood of getting swing and miss/pop fly.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Sports_Freak said:

To start an inning, I would say yes, he has to face 3 hitters. But if a reliever comes in for the final hitter, he doesn't need to start the next inning, does he?

My question was actually misdirected anyway, Lange had already faced three batters before he gave up the third walk - he had K'd Moncada.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If this is true then I guess I’m ok with it. But for gods sake it’s not “great” pizza. I don’t think anybody even within the company would claim that. Tork needs to go on an adventure next off day in Detroit. 

  • Thanks 3
  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      251
    • Most Online
      186

    Newest Member
    Terrible1345
    Joined
  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...